Monument to the Birthplace of Welsh Rugby
It is widely accepted that rugby was introduced to Wales by the Rev. Professor Rowland Williams, who became Vice-Principal of St David’s College in 1850 and who’d played Rugby Football as a student at Kings College, Cambridge. The Welsh Rugby Union recognises Lampeter’s importance to the birth of rugby in Wales, and articles in the University’s archives mention playing rugby at Lampeter in the 1850s. The first competitive match using the rugby rules wasn’t played until 1866.
The monument is situated on the university Campus between the Library and Canterbury Building.
World famous collection of Welsh Quilts located in Lampeter’s old town hall. The exhibition changes throughout the year. There is a shop and a cafe as part of the centre.
- (01570) 422088
The Lampeter Museum, located in the old University Porter’s Lodge is open on Saturdays, Tuesdays and Thursdays between 10am and 4pm.
Lampeter Town Trail
Lampeter’s history is explained in the town heritage trail. It takes you to Lampeter Rugby Club, one of the founder members of the Welsh Rugby Union, The War memorial, designed by W Goscombe John and the University. It also explain’s Lampeter’s connection with the attempted murder of Dylan Thomas in 1945L.
University of Wales Trinity St David
Lampeter is home to the oldest University in Wales. Founded in 1822, by Bishop Burgess of Saint David’s. The University now offers a mix of traditional and modern courses, and is pioneering teaching over the internet. The grounds are open to the public, and you are welcome to visit. The Founders Library, in the Old Building contains a fascinating collection of books, and hosts a variety of exhibitions throughout the year. The University Chapel, also located in the Old Building is a must for any visitor.
There are a number of interesting places to visit only a few miles from Lampeter.
This 18th-century Welsh gentry estate with house, walled gardens and home farm, designed and built by John Nash is now in the care of the National Trust. It has many unaltered features including service courtyard with dairy, laundry, brewery and salting house. It is only 20 mins by car and the 40 bus service from Lampeter passes close by.
- T (01545) 570200
Dolaucothi Gold Mines
Visit the Dolaucothi Gold Mines in Pumsaint, in use from Roman times to the 20th century. There are guided tours of the underground workings andfantastic walks in the beautiful Cothi Valley. Only 15 minutes by car from Lampeter.
- T (01558) 650177
Lampeter is only a few miles from the wonderful Cardigan Bay coastline with its clean and secluded beaches. A new footpath along the coast has recently opened.
Lampeter is also the centre of a network of country walks along footpaths, bridleways or quiet roads. These lead to lakes, picturesque river banks, abandoned hill forts and standing stones. OS Maps detailing the paths in the area can be purchased from the Newsagents or bookshops in town, as can the book, Walking Lampeter, produced by the Lampeter Ramblers, which suggests interesting walks in the area.
Ceredigion County Council provides information on the Lampeter – Aberaeron footpath (21 miles) along the beautiful Aeron Valley and walks in the Lampeter area to Longwood and Allgoch Iron Age settlement.
We also have a wonderful network of footpaths through Longwood Community Woodland, on the outskirts of the town.
Lampeter is a great place to cycle. We have miles of quiet roads, and are only a short distance from Brechfa Forest mountain bile trails and the Ystwyth Cycle Trail.
For more information on things to do in the area, why not visit the Discover Ceredigion website.